Contact Us

Join, renew, or donate

Sign up to receive news about events and volunteer days or to receive our newsletter.

Like our Facebook page

2022 Directors

Jan Axelson (President), 608-215-0426,
Timothy Baker (Vice President)
Mary Binkley
Sheila Leary
Lesleigh Luttrell (Treasurer)
Jim Mand
Mary Manering (secretary)
Paul Noeldner


Russ Hefty,

Meetings and Minutes

Mailing Address

Friends of Cherokee Marsh
PO Box 14536
Madison WI 53708

Our mission

We work to protect, restore, and foster appreciation and enjoyment of Cherokee Marsh’s lands, waters, and living beauty.

Our vision

Cherokee Marsh is vital to the ecology of the Yahara lakes and waters. The marsh is a place of great beauty, a natural treasure alive with diverse native plants and animals, and a refuge for he renewal of the human spirit. People value Cherokee Marsh for its educational and recreational opportunities, filtering of stormwater runoff, tempering of flood surges, and other wetland functions.